Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: TDT Setup

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    TDT Setup

    Hi, I have bought a Multimediaplayer that has TDT in-built. I have also bought an aerial that is supposed to be capable of receiving both analogue and digital signals. When I scan for channels, I receive no hits. The MediaPlayer has the option to select the country and I've made sure it's set to Spain but I don't find any channels.

    I am using some COAX that was connected to a Sat dish - tried a couple of different pieces of cable with no luck. I realise that the cable may not be ideal and that the aerial itself might be faulty but shouldn't I at least receive some signal - even if the reception quality is poor?

    If so, what other simple things could I try before I start to suspect the Multimedia player as being the cause of the problem?

  2. #2
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    3,734
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts

    Re: TDT Setup

    ok,

    firstly is your tv aerial configured for digital or analog signals....
    you cannot really use one aerial for both systems, hence why houses have two aerials in different polarizations.

    you may also need a mast amplifer and power supply to help amplify the TDT signals.

    are you pointing the aerial in the corrrect direction?

    check you cable - check any connections along the cable....
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TDT Setup

    Excuse my ignorance but when you say "configured" for digital or analog signals, do you mean 'positioned' to receive one or the other?
    As far as I know, the aerial can receive both types of signal and I am unaware of any other type of configuration that's possible on the aerial apart from the positioning of it.

    I don't have a mast amplifier but wouldn't I be able to get some kind of signal - albeit a very bad one - even without amplification?
    I'm reluctant to pay for additional equipment only to later discover that the aerial and/or tuner is the problem.

    I may be pointing the aerial in the wrong direction. I checked on www.tdt.es with my Post Code but I am only pointing the aerial in 'roughly' the direction of where the transmitter is. Does this have to be more accurately aligned as it is with Satellite systems using some metering equipment?

    The cable and connections appear to be OK visually. How can I tell for sure that it's the right cable for the job and that's it doesn't need replacing.

    Thanks for your help.

  4. #4
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    3,734
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts

    Re: TDT Setup

    yes an aerial can receive both analogue and digitals....but not really at the same time.
    many analogue channels require the polarisation of the aerial to be vertical....whereas the polarisation for digital channels is horizontal...

    so, like i said, thats why many spanish houses have two aerials, configurede for the two different polarizations.

    a tv aerial configured for analogue will not get all of the digital channels, and vice versa.

    the attached image shows an aerial configured for TDT

    yes you should be able to get some sort of signal even without a signal amplifer

    ideally the aerial should have line of site to the transmitter, and be pointing directly at the transmitter. misalignment will result in not all cahnneels being available.

    dont justs check the cables visually, take them apart and check the actual cable instide the conenctions....
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ducati Team focuses on setup at Catalunya
    By Sports News Poster in forum Moto GP
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1st June 2012, 06:11 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th November 2011, 05:43 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th October 2011, 06:18 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th September 2011, 08:56 AM
  5. De Puniet tenth, Capirossi searching for setup
    By Sports News Poster in forum Moto GP
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th June 2011, 08:29 PM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

sat set up fo spanish tv

TDT signals

tdtsetup

pointing aerial spain

how to set up a spanish tv aerial

how to set up tdt to tv

tdt to tv configuration

tdt to tv set up

amplifier for TDT aerial

Tags for this Thread