PDA

View Full Version : Freesat lip-synch issues



Gregarious
16th November 2011, 02:23 PM
Hi everyone. Can any of you good people throw any light on the possible causes and remedies for lip-synch?

I've just had a Freesat system installed: I live in Pilar de la Horadada at the southern end of the Costa Blanca. All fine and dandy. Except for the horrendous out-of-synch audio and video; HD is bordering on unbearable.

My specs are:
• Panasonic TH-42PZ80E TV
• 1.45m dish
• Inverto twin flange BlackPro LNB
• Iberosat HD4500 STB

I've discovered that the main programme providers (SKY, BBC and ITV) have an awareness of the problem and believe they have fixed it. My contacts in the UK (with SKY and Freesat STBs) tell me they have no lip-synch problems at all.

I've eliminated my TV (no problems with BluRay or changes to digital processing), the HDMI cable (again, no problems with BluRay, the cabling and connections. This leaves the STB (with no lip-synch adjustment feature), the dish, the LNB, our geographical location or some other reasons.

At the moment the only way round it seems to be the purchase of something like a Humax Foxsat HD-R as featured by satandpcguy.

Any thoughts or experiences shared on this gratefully received. Thanks for reading.

satandpcguy
16th November 2011, 04:26 PM
Hi and Welcome,
Firstly your Iberosat HD4500 STB is not a Freesat box.
You can only receive Freesat on a Freesat box, and so you do not have a "Freesat Sytsem" installed, otherwise your box would be a Freesat box!
You have a "generic" box, that can receive the same FTA channels as a Freesat box (or a Sky box with no card!).

and so your contact in the uK are correct in that there are no sync issues with Freesat...as you are not using Freesat!

If you are experiencing the issues on the "free to air" channels like SKy News and True Movies and CBS, then it will more than likely be an issue with the receiver.

Gregarious
16th November 2011, 05:51 PM
Hi again. Many thanks for your prompt and helpful reply - and for correcting me on what I thought was a Freesat box. From what you are suggesting it would seem to be an issue with the generic box.

If anyone here has a Freesat box and can comment that they have no lip-synch problems with it then Freesat instead of FTA seems to be the way to go. Thanks again.

satandpcguy
16th November 2011, 07:47 PM
I dont run a Freesat box all the time, but I have not seen any sunc issues on Freesat or Sky boxes.
And those that have appeared on Freesat boxes have been fixed quite quickly when they have appeared, via the over the air software update