Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: No Signal 1 strength or quality and it is not locked.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy No Signal 1 strength or quality and it is not locked.

    Hi,

    I have recently been getting some pixelation, but today, my picture kept freezing after a few seconds on any channel that I chose.

    I have done a reboot service. Hoovered out the card slot, swapped the signal cables around (which had no effect at all)

    Checked the signal quality.

    Input 1 is showing no signal, no quality and not locked.

    Input 2 is showing 1/2 bar (sometimes this shows 3/4 bar) signal, No quality at times, but has just improved to 1/2 bar and lock says OK.

    The listings on the EPG did start to re-appear but we are missing BBC2 (even though we can never receive the picture, we normally get the listing), Channel 4, Sky1 and many others

    Any ideas?

    I am using Sky+ HD (Thomson) 1.9 metre dish and live in Gran Alacant

    Cheers

    Paul Throp

  2. #2
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    3,969
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Hi,

    It would be useful if you could confirm if this pixelation is occuring on EVERY channel or just a few - like Sky News, BBC News, BBC1, ITV2, Sky 1, Sky 3.

    One of the bars on the signal test screen on HD boxes normally shows the default transponder frequency 11778 strength. The other shows the strength of the channel you are watching and which appears in the miniscreen. As 11778 is not available all day (its weakest at 5pm!) that bar can say no signal is being receive and not locked, but you can still be watching channel on other more receiveable frequencies, hence why you get something on the second test bars. (For example if you record both Sky news and BBC News then you will have very strong strength and uality as these channels are on strong frequencies!)

    11778 is the frequency for the main EPG data. So if you are missing EPG data (like you say you are not getting data for BBC2) then you are not receiving 11778.

    It will eventually return as that frequency becomes stronger again during the evening.

    Reception of 11778 also depends on LNB skew - whch if not correct can cause pixelation then loss of some channels as they get weaker.
    It is crucial for good LNB skew for reception of north beam channels like Sky Sports 4 and Sky Sports News and Eurosport 2 and some of the Sky Movie channels Sky 1 (Irish version) Sky 2 and Sky3.

    Check the LNB for spiders inside.
    Check the cable for cable joins that may have water ingress...not good for signals.

    If the EPG is missing channels from the list then a reboot should reload the EPG and all the channels in the EPG.
    If the EPG i just missing programme data from the channels then this will reappear once 11778 becomes available.

    Hope this helps
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for that excellent reply, we will keep your info on file.

    Things have come back to normal and we will keep our eye on it around 5pm every night to see if the quality remains.

    On another issue, we heard talk of Spain losing signals from Sky at some point soon! Is this still true?

    Cheers

    Paul

  4. #4
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    3,969
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    I presume by "Sky" you mean UK TV. BBC and ITV are nothing to do with Sky. And Sky do not own satellites, they, like all the other boradcasters rent spance on the satellites.

    Unless all 4 satellites that provide UK TV are hit by an asteroid or other catastrophe at the same time, then you will always have some UK TV channels available. Only if / when the exisitng satellite are replaced will reception change - for the better or worse who knows...they said that Astra 2d would noy be available in Spain, but you can still get it!
    Last edited by satandpcguy; 22nd September 2010 at 08:34 AM.
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Phew!!!!

    Thanks

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. No sat signal for some channels but perfect signal for others
    By golfgtiman in forum UK TV in Spain and the Costa Blanca
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th September 2012, 10:39 PM
  2. signal is not locked on sky hd box
    By nken290 in forum The Satellite TV Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th September 2011, 08:41 AM
  3. "I have no signal quality on my Sky dish in Spain."
    By satandpcguy in forum Frequently Asked Questions about Satellite TV on The Costa Blanca and Spain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd July 2011, 06:24 PM
  4. Lost signal strength
    By sgw869 in forum The Satellite TV Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th August 2009, 08:51 AM
  5. Signal Strength
    By sgw869 in forum The Satellite TV Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th January 2009, 06:46 AM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

sky input 1 not locked

sky input 1 and 2 not locked

lock indicator not locked

sky input 1 signal strength

no input 1 signal strength

signal 1 not locked

sky hd input 1 not locked

sky signal test not locked

sky signal not locked

input 1 not locked

sky no signal input 1

input 1 lock indicator not locked

sky signal input 1 not locked

sky input 1 no signal

no signal quality on sky boxsky input lock indicator not lockedsky tv not lockedsky input 1 lock indicator not lockedsky hd box input 1 not lockedinput 1 lock indicator nullsky hd signal not lockedsky signal 1 not lockedsky box no signal qualitysky signal strength not lockedinput 1 signal strengthsky box input 1 and 2 not lockedinput 1 signal not lockedsky no signal on input 1input 1 no signal strengthno signal on input 1 sky hdsky signal strengthsky signal input 1not lockedinput lock indicator not lockedsky no signal lock indicator not lockedsky input 1 signal quality lowno input 1 signal strength spainsky lock indicator not lockedsky input 1 and input 2 not lockedINPUT 1 LOCK INDICATOR ON SKYsky hd box lock indicator not lockedno signal on input 2 sky no input 1 signal quality loosing channelssky signal strength no bars displayedinput 1 signal strength not lockedsky signal test spainsky input signal strengthsky signal strength input 1lock indicator not locked skyWhat is lock indicator on sky boxsky input 2 not lockedwhat does it mean when your sky hd box says input 1 lock indicator NOT LOCKEDno input 1 signal sky hd spainsky HD input 1 not locked on certain channelslow input signal strength and quailty on 1 sky box helpwhat are angle do you piont your satilite do get astra 2d 28 2e in gran alacant spainsky signal 1 good signal 2 not lockedsky hd signal 1 not lockedno bar in input 1 signal strengthinput signal 2 not lockedsky sport hd 1 input 1 lock indicator not lockedno signal strength on sky box input 1sky hd input 1 no signalwhat is input signal 1 pn sky used forsky box not working showing input 1lock indicator not lockedno signal from input 1 sky tvsignal strength for sky tvpoint dishand signal strengthsky hd box no signal quality or strengthsky hd no signal 2nd boximprove input 2 signal quality sky low signal strength no quality2nd sky box no signalsky hd box input 1 not workingsky not locking on input 1sky low signal strength not locking

Tags for this Thread