Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ITV HD on Freesat

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Javea
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ITV HD on Freesat

    Hi Jon

    In the last two weeks or so the HD reception on Freesat has changed. We have two Freesat boxes and the same thing happens with them both.

    Before a couple of weeks ago when the picture on ITV began to break up we were able, when the programme was going out in HD, to click the red button when the "Watch ITV HD" sign appeared in the top right hand corner of the screen. The picture would then reload and appear in HD with a perfect quality signal and then revert back to the breaking up picture at the end of the programme.
    Now when I press the red button it doesn't reload in HD but just says "no or poor signal" or words to that effect.
    Can you tell us why this is and if it should be this way ??

    Many thanks
    Regards
    Pavlo

  2. #2
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    4,070
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Perhaps the red Button HD signal has been discontinued - why should they have a seperate signal, when there is already an ITV1 HD channel available.

    Or perhaps your "Red Button" ITVHD has now been mapped to one of the ITV11 HD regions, as opposed to being an "extra" service.

    There are several versions of ITVHD available: some whose reception is as per BBC2, and some whose reception is as per ITV1.

    So perhaps your ITV1HD for Channel Isalnds has now been mapped to the weaker reception ITV1HD.

    You can do do a scan in nonfreesat mode it will find all ITV1HD regions.

    Or perhaps change your postcode to another regoins - Manchester and Leeds I believe have a strong ITV1HD regions and use ITV1HD Granada, but then, with the recent BBC1 changes you may not get a strong signal on 101, but will, tomorrow, go on 108 for BBC1HD and 109 for BBCHD.

    Does going to 977 and pressing red help - or is that what you are doing? I understand the red button HD will only works if the programme is actually made in HD, and not if it is SD
    Last edited by satandpcguy; 2nd November 2010 at 05:54 PM.
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Javea
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Jon
    Thanks very much. I will wait until after today and see if it all settles down.
    The EPG on 977 says it's in HD, so it should, or always used to, load up in HD and probably with a stronger / vertical polarisation perhaps. For instance "Downton Abbey" on sunday night is a good example. The picture is just beginning to pixelate, so I press the red button, as instructed in the top right hand corner, and the picture goes completely and says there is no signal. OOOOOOOer missus !!!
    Regards

  4. #4
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    4,070
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Definately sounds like your ITV1 region you have your postcode set to ti now mapped to a weaker ITV1 HD frequency....

    But...

    the ITV1HD signal is still on 11428 h, which is the one you were going to when you pressed your red button....it is there, and I can view it on a non freesay HD box,....

    But, it has been "tagged" as a non TV channel, and so even if you scan in nonfreesat mode, it will pick the channel into the list, but you will not be able to view it.

    This may be a question of trying to find out if there is a ITV1 region / postcode that still accesses this service....
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

  5. #5
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    4,070
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    To conclude this, the ITV HD Red Button functionality has ceased.

    This function was useful, as it was located on a satellite beam that was easily available in Spain. However, ITV have stopped this functionality. The only ITV HDs available iwll be those on the Freesat HD menu system.

    There are two versions of ITV1 HD - one is on the much weaker horizontal frequency, (ie similar to BBC 2 UK), and the other is on the stronger vertical frequency, reception similar to ITV2,3,4.
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to get Sky News on Freesat? What is the Sky news Frequency on Freesat?
    By satandpcguy in forum Frequently Asked Questions about Satellite TV on The Costa Blanca and Spain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th June 2011, 06:13 PM
  2. BBC Iplayer on Freesat....
    By satandpcguy in forum UK IPlayer and Internet TV services
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th November 2009, 11:02 PM
  3. sky freesat-HELP
    By samstuart in forum UK TV in Spain and the Costa Blanca
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29th March 2009, 01:17 PM
  4. Freesat V Sky
    By jacton in forum The Satellite TV Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th December 2008, 04:48 PM
  5. FREESAT
    By supershaw in forum Freesat TV in Spain. Freesat boxes in Spain. Freesat HD in Spain and the Costa Blanca
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th September 2008, 08:51 AM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

itv hd frequency 2011

itv1hd frequency

itv1 hd frequencyitv hd frequencyitv1 hd granada freesat frequencyBEST ITV HD RECEPTION ON FREESATWhich region has the strongest ITV freesat channelitv hd on sky freesatitv2 hd freesat frequencyitv hd picture breakupitv hd receptionitv signal frequencyitv hd signal frequency sky itv hd available on freesat 2011itv1hd frequency codefreesat itv signalbbc red button freesat frequencyitv1hd no signal in nwitv hd freesat freqwhy does itv hd keep breaking up free satno itv1hd in freesat spaincodes ITV 2 HD why does itv1 hd channel pixelatedpoor freesat hd signalitv2 hd sat frequencywhat is the itv hd signal frequencyitv1hd on freesat frequencyTV picture breaking up abroad ITVno signal for itv hd freesat 2011itv1 1 freesat frequencysky satellite frequency code for itv 1 HDitv1 hd frequency 2011itv hd frequencies spainitv1hd frequencies on freesatwhat the itvhd freesat frequency detailsfrequency codes for ITV signal in Spainitv frequency on freesat in spainITV keeps breaking up in spainfreq Itv3 hd freesat2011 itv1 hd frequency freesat 977 hdfreesat postcode itv hditv1 hd frequency on freesatwhy does sound break up on bbc hd and itvhd on freesatitv1 hd freesat frequency 2011freesat 977 freesat hditv 2 hd on satmanchester postcodes for itv1hditv1 breaks up costa blancaITV hd frequency codesitv1 hd no signalfreesat bbc hd frequencyregion for strongest ITV HD signalitv1 hd granada freesat postcodeitv1hd frequency sky freesat itv hd on freesat in costa blancaitv2 hd freesatItv1 hd frequency codeitv hd frequencie in spainhow do stop itv breaking up in southern spainitv1 hd frequency 2010

Tags for this Thread