Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Sky + HD Digibox

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Javea
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Sky + HD Digibox

    Hi

    I have been trying a second hand Sky + HD digibox which seems to work well apart from the fact that it refuses to record.
    A message comes up to say that the recording was unsucessfrul.......or words to that effect.

    I have tried the "system restore" which doesn't help.
    I have tried to update the system software, but it doesn't seem to want to do that.

    Could it be the card ?

    If anyone has any ideas I would be very pleased to hear them.
    Many thanks.
    Pavlo

  2. #2
    Site Owner / Satellite Installer
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Based in Gandia, covers Calpe to Valencia and inland
    Satellite dish being used
    Marafa (not Famaval!) 1.8m dish, 80cm dish
    Satellite Digibox / Receivers used
    Sky+HD, Sky Pace 2600, Ariva 100, Dreambox DM7025, GI1025E
    Posts
    4,022
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    That could be for a number of reasons the main one being that you need a Sky subscription for the recording functions on a Sky box to work. A freesatfromsky non subscription card will not record.
    In most cases the Sky card has to be paired to the Sky box for it to work - check Sky Sports 1 and read whats on the screen...if it says "wrong card" then the card is not paired to the box.
    And make sure that both inputs are connected to the dish / LNB as if you have only conneced one cable it may be recording using the nonconnected input. (or put the box into single feed mode - services 0 0 1 select, its at the bottom of the screen)
    Software should not be an issue, as long as you have the new style HD EPG.
    The only other issue could be you have a bad box...either one of the tuners in the box has gone, or the HDD is bad / corrupted.
    Last edited by satandpcguy; 24th March 2011 at 02:38 PM.
    The Sat and PC Guy
    UK Satellite TV, Sky TV, Freesat TV and Spanish Digital TDT Installations Costa Blanca Spain
    96 281 9796 / 620 130 292
    info@satandpcguy.com (alternate email satandpcguy@gmail.com )
    Costa Blanca Satellite TV / Sky Tv in Spain - Our BLOG
    Like us on Facebook for the latest Satellite TV in Spain

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Javea
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Jon
    Thanks very much for the advice. As always, you have been very helpful.
    Back to the drawing board !
    Regards
    Pavlo

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can I receive Spanish TV using my Sky digibox?
    By satandpcguy in forum Frequently Asked Questions about Satellite TV on The Costa Blanca and Spain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9th September 2012, 03:16 PM
  2. Does a Sky HD digibox or a Freesat HD set top box improve reception in Spain?
    By satandpcguy in forum Frequently Asked Questions about Satellite TV on The Costa Blanca and Spain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd February 2012, 06:09 PM
  3. Sky Digibox - Forced Software Update
    By Bob2908 in forum UK TV in Spain and the Costa Blanca
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th February 2010, 07:42 AM
  4. Sky+HD 1TB box - New digibox from Amstrad for Sky HD
    By satandpcguy in forum Satellite TV News for the Costa Blanca and Spain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th February 2010, 06:49 PM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

record sky to pc hd 2011

Tags for this Thread