La Vuelta Espana 2015 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2015 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2015 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights until 2020. Some stages may be covered live by ITV.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live. The La Vuelta Espana will be shown live on ITV4 and British Eurosport, with a comprehensive package of television coverage for British viewers. Eurosport have La Vuelta Espana broadcast rights until 2020.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2015 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free.


The 2015 La Vuelta Espana route

Running from Saturday August 22nd to Sunday September 13th 2015, the Vuelta will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,374.4 kilometres.

6 flat stages.
13 hill and mountain stages
1 team time trial stage.
1 individual time trial stage

Distinctive aspects of the race
39 individual time trial stage
7,4 kilometres team time trial stage
44 summits.
2 rest days.

The 2015 La Vuelta Espana routev

Stage Date Course Distance Notes
1 22 August Puerto Banús – Marbella 7.4 km (4.6 mi) Team time trial
2 23 August Alhaurín de la Torre – Caminito del Rey (Alora) 165 km (103 mi) Medium-mountain stage
3 24 August Mijas – Malaga 164.6 km (102.3 mi) Flat stage
4 25 August Estepona – Vejer de la Frontera 203 km (126 mi) Hilly stage
5 26 August Rota – Alcalá de Guadaira 182 km (113 mi) Flat stage
6 27 August Córdoba – Sierra de Cazorla (Cazorla) 204 km (127 mi) Medium-mountain stage
7 28 August Jodar – La Alpujarra (Capileira) 188.3 km (117.0 mi) Mountain stage
8 29 August Puebla de Don Fadrique – Murcia 188.6 km (117.2 mi) Flat stage
9 30 August Torrevieja – Cumbre del Sol (Benitachell) 168.3 km (104.6 mi) Medium-mountain stage
10 31 August Valencia – Castellón de la Plana 152 km (94 mi) Flat stage
1 September Rest day
11 2 September Andorra la Vella – Cortals d’Encamp 138 km (86 mi) Mountain stage
12 3 September Escaldes-Engordany – Lleida 172.5 km (107.2 mi) Flat stage
13 4 September Calatayud – Tarazona 168 km (104 mi) Medium-mountain stage
14 5 September Vitoria-Gasteiz – Fuente del Chivo (Alto Campoo) 213 km (132 mi) Mountain stage
15 6 September Comillas – Sotres (Cabrales) 175 km (109 mi) Mountain stage
16 7 September Luarca – Ermita del Alba (Quiros) 184 km (114 mi) Mountain stage
8 September Rest day
17 9 September Burgos – Burgos 39 km (24 mi) Individual time trial
18 10 September Roa de Duero – Riaza 204 km (127 mi) Medium-mountain stage
19 11 September Medina del Campo – Ávila 185 km (115 mi) Hilly stage
20 12 September San Lorenzo del Escorial – Cercedilla 181 km (112 mi) Mountain stage
21 13 September Alcalá de Henares – Madrid 93.7 km (58.2 mi) Flat stage