La Vuelta Espana 2016 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2016 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2016 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights. Some stages may be covered live by ITV.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2016 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free via a TV aerial.


Other coverage will be on BeIN Sports MENA, VRT (Belgium), NOS (Netherlands)


The 2016 La Vuelta Espana route

Running from Saturday August 20th to Sunday September 11th 2016, the Vuelta will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,277.3 kilometres (before ratification).

7 flat stages (2 with high-altitude finales)
12 hill and mountain stages
1 individual time trial stage
1 team time trial stage

Distinctive aspects of the race

29,4 km individual time trial
39 km team time trial
51 summits
2 rest days




The stages        
1 Team time trial Saturday, August 20th Ourense termal. B. de Laias > P. N. Castrelo de Miño 29.4 km
2 Flat Sunday, August 21st Ourense capital termal > Baiona 159 km
3 Hill Monday, August 22nd Marín > Dumbría. Mirador de Ézaro 170 km
4 Hill Tuesday, August 23rd Betanzos > San Andrés de Teixido 161 km
5 Flat Wednesday, August 24th Viveiro > Lugo 170 km
6 Hill Thursday, August 25th Monforte de Lemos > Luintra. Ribera Sacra 163 km
7 Hill Friday, August 26th Maceda > Puebla de Sanabria 158.3 km
8 Flat Saturday, August 27th Villalpando > La Camperona. Valle de Sabero 177 km
9 Hill Sunday, August 28th Cistierna > Oviedo. Alto del Naranco 165 km
10 Mountain Monday, August 29th Lugones > Lagos de Covadonga 186.6 km
Rest day Tuesday, August 30th Repos
11 Flat Wednesday, August 31st Colunga. Museo Jurásico > Peña Cabarga 168.6 km
12 Hill Thursday, September 1st Los Corrales de Buelna > Bilbao 193.2 km
13 Hill Friday, September 2nd Bilbao > Urdax-Dantxarinea 212.8 km
14 Mountain Saturday, September 3rd Urdax-Dantxarinea > Aubisque – Gourette 195.6 km
15 Mountain Sunday, September 4th Sabiñánigo > Sallent de Gállego. Aramón Formigal 120 km
16 Flat Monday, September 5th Alcañiz > Peñíscola 158 km
Rest day Tuesday, September 6th Repos
17 Mountain Wednesday, September 7th Castellón > Llucena. Camins del Penyagolosa 173.3 km
18 Flat Thursday, September 8th Requena > Gandía 191 km
19 Individual time trial Friday, September 9th Xàbia > Calp 39 km
20 Mountain Saturday, September 10th Benidorm >Alto Aitana. Escuadrón E. Aire 184 km
21 Flat Sunday, September 11th Las Rozas > Madrid 102.5 km