Fifa Football World Cup 2010 on UK TV (Spain)

Fifa Football World Cup 2010

The Fifa Football World Cup 2010 will be the 19th World Cup. It took place between 11 June and 11 July 2010 in South Africa.

This will be the first time that the tournament has been hosted by an African nation, after South Africa beat Morocco and Egypt in an all-African bidding process.

Italy are the defending champions.


Fifa Football World Cup 2010 Broadcasters

The Fifa Football World Cup 2010 in South Africa will be available on UK TV channels (BBC and ITV) and on Spanish TV (Cuatro).

BBC TV and ITV generally share the matches, with both showing one semi final each, and both sowing the final. Expect matches to be also available on BBC HD and ITV HD channels.

Matches will also be screened on the BBC Sports Interactive Streams using the BBC Red Button feature. This will be useful to some in the Costa Blanca Spain, as it can be accessed via BBC News using a small satellite dish rather than a large 1.8m or 2.4m satellite dish.

Spanish TV channel Cuatro will be showing at least one match per day, with satellite Pay TV operator Digital+ showing all matches.

Eurosport will also be covering matches – although matches involving England may not be shown on the British Eurosport variation.



Fifa Football World Cup 2010 – England Group Matches

Saturday, 12 June 2010
England v USA, Gp C, 19:30

Sunday, 13 June 2010
Algeria v Slovenia, Gp C, 12:30

Friday, 18 June 2010
Slovenia v USA, Gp C, 15:00
England v Algeria, Gp C, 19:30

Wednesday, 23 June 2010
Slovenia v England, Gp C, 15:00
USA v Algeria, Gp C, 15:00


Fifa Football World Cup 2010 – Spains Group Matches

Wednesday, 16 June 2010
Honduras v Chile, Gp H, 12:30
Spain v Switzerland, Gp H, 15:00

Monday, 21 June 2010
Chile v Switzerland, Gp H, 15:00
Spain v Honduras, Gp H, 19:30

Friday, 25 June 2010
Chile v Spain, Gp H, 19:30
Switzerland v Honduras, Gp H, 19:30


Fifa Football World Cup 2010 – Further Matches

Saturday, 26 June 2010
Winner Gp A v Runner-up Gp B, 16R, 15:00
Winner Gp C v Runner-up Gp D, 16R, 19:30

Sunday, 27 June 2010
Winner Gp B v Runner-up Gp A, 16R, 19:30
Winner Gp D v Runner-up Gp C, 16R, 15:00

Monday, 28 June 2010
Winner Gp E v Runner-up Gp F, 16R, 15:00
Winner Gp G v Runner-up Gp H, 16R, 19:30

Tuesday, 29 June 2010
Winner Gp F v Runner-up Gp E, 16R, 15:00
Winner Gp H v Runner-up Gp G, 16R, 19:30

Friday, 2 July 2010
Wnr Gp A/R-Up Gp B v Wnr Gp C/R-Up Gp D, QF, 19:30
Wnr Gp E/R-Up Gp F v Wnr Gp G/R-Up Gp H, QF, 15:00

Saturday, 3 July 2010
Wnr Gp B/R-Up Gp A v Wnr Gp D/R-Up Gp C, QF, 15:00
Wnr Gp F/R-Up Gp E v Wnr Gp H/R-Up Gp G, QF, 19:30


Fifa Football World Cup 2010 – Subsequent Knock out Phase matches times and dates

Tuesday, 6 July 2010
Winner Q/F 1 v Winner Q/F 3, SF, 19:30

Wednesday, 7 July 2010
Winner Q/F 2 v Winner Q/F 4, SF, 19:30

Saturday, 10 July 2010
Loser SF1 v Loser SF2, 3rd, 19:30

Sunday, 11 July 2010
Winners SF1 v Winners SF2, F, 19:30


Fifa Football World Cup 2010 – BBC and ITV Coverage

The first batch of 2010 Football world cup matches to be shown on BBC and ITV have been announced.

ITV1 will screen Englands first two World Cup group games, against the USA and Algeria, when the tournament begins in South Africa in June, with the BBC showing the national teams first two knockout matches, should the team progress that far.

BBC1 will also show the third group game, against Slovenia, in the afternoon on Wednesday 23 June.

ITV will expect to get big audiences for the Saturday-evening match against the USA, which will kick off at 7.30pm UK time on 12 June.

Englands second game, against Algeria, who finished fourth in this year African Cup of Nations, will also be shown in a primetime evening slot on ITV1 – 7.30pm on Friday 18 June.

ITV1 will also show the first game of the tournament, between the hosts, South Africa, and Mexico, which takes place in Johannesburg on the afternoon of Friday 11 June.

BBC1 will have first pick of the “round of 16” games following the group stages, and will screen Englands game should Fabio Capellos side progress, along with their quarter-final clash.

Both broadcasters will show Englands semi-final clash should the team be fortunate enough to find themselves in the last four. The last time England progressed to the World Cup semi-final was in 1990, when they lost to Germany on penalties.

The final on Sunday 11 July in Johannesburg will also be screened on both BBC1 and ITV1, regardless of which teams make it that far.

Friday 11.06.10
1500 South Africa v Mexico ITV Johannesburg Soccer City
1930 Uruguay v France BBC Cape Town

Saturday 12.06.10
1230 South Korea v Greece ITV Port Elizabeth
1500 Argentina v Nigeria BBC Johannesburg Ellis Park
1930 England v USA ITV Rustenburg

Sunday 13.06.10
1230 Algeria v Slovenia BBC Polokwane
1500 Serbia v Ghana ITV Pretoria
1930 Germany v Australia ITV Durban

Monday 14.06.10
1230 Netherlands v Denmark ITV Johannesburg Soccer City
1500 Japan v Cameroon BBC Bloemfontein
1930 Italy v Paraguay BBC Cape Town

Tuesday 15.06.10
1230 New Zealand v Slovakia BBC Rustenburg
1500 Ivory Coast v Portugal ITV Port Elizabeth
1930 Brazil v North Korea ITV Johannesburg Ellis Park

Wednesday 16.06.10
1230 Honduras v Chile ITV Nelspruit
1500 Spain v Switzerland BBC Durban
1930 South Africa v Uruguay BBC Pretoria

Thursday 17.06.10
1230 Argentina v South Korea ITV Johannesburg Soccer City
1500 Greece v Nigeria BBC Bloemfontein
1930 France v Mexico BBC Polkowane

Friday 18.06.10
1230 Germany v Serbia BBC Port Elizabeth
1500 Slovenia v USA BBC Johannesburg Ellis Park
1930 England v Algeria ITV Cape Town

Saturday 19.06.10
1230 Netherlands v Japan ITV Durban
1500 Ghana v Australia BBC Rustenburg
1930 Cameroon v Denmark ITV Pretoria

Sunday 20.06.10
1230 Slovakia v Paraguay BBC Bloemfontein
1500 Italy v New Zealand ITV Nelspruit
1930 Brazil v Ivory Coast BBC Johannesburg Soccer City

Monday 21.06.10
1230 Portugal v North Korea BBC Cape Town
1500 Chile v Switzerland BBC Port Elizabeth
1930 Spain v Honduras ITV Johannesburg Ellis Park

Tuesday 22.06.10
1500 Mexico v Uruguay ITV Rustenburg
1500 France v South Africa ITV Bloemfontein
1930 Nigeria v South Korea BBC Durban
1930 Greece v Argentina BBC Polkowane

Wednesday 23.06.10
1500 Slovenia v England BBC Port Elizabeth


Fifa Football World Cup 2010 on Spanish TV – Cuatro.

England, United States Saturday 12 June 20:30 pm,
Germany, Australia Sunday 13 June 20:30 pm,
Italy-Paraguay Monday 14 June 20:30 pm
Brazil Korea Tuesday 15 June 20:30 pm
France-Mexico Thursday 17 June 20:30 pm,
England-Algeria Friday, June 18th 20:30 pm
Cameroon, Denmark, Saturday 19 June 20:30 pm
Brazil, Ivory Coast Sunday, June 20 20:30 pm
Greece-Argentina Tuesday 22 June 20:30 pm
Ghana-Germany Wednesday 23 June 20:30 pm
Cameroon-Netherlands Thursday 24 June 20:30 pm


Fifa Football World Cup 2010 in 3D

Sony and FIFA announced their plans to show World Cup games in 3D back in December and today released details of the games that will be covered.

The coverage will be available to people with 3DTVs and a 3D service.

Here the complete list of all the games being broadcast in 3D

11 June RSA v MEX
12 June ARG v NGA
13 June GER v AUS
14 June NED v DEN
15 June BRA v PRK
16 June ESP v SUI
17 June ARG v KOR
18 June SVN v USA
19 June NED v JPN
20 June BRA v CIV
21 June ESP v HON
22 June NGA v KOR
23 June GHA v GER
24 June SVK v ITA
25 June POR v BRA
27 June 1st B v 2nd A
28 June 1st E v 2nd F
28 June 1st G v 2nd H
2 July Quarter finals
3 July Quarter finals
3 July Quarter finals
6 July Semi finals
7 July Semi finals
10 July 3rd place match
11 July Final