La Vuelta Espana 2012 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2012 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2012 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights until 2020.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live. The La Vuelta Espana will be shown live on ITV4 and British Eurosport, with a comprehensive package of television coverage for British viewers. Eurosport have La Vuelta Espana broadcast rights until 2020.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2012 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free.


The 2012 La Vuelta Espana route

The 67th edition of the Tour of Spain – La Vuelta a Espana, in 2012 starts on Saturday August 18 with the final stage in Madrid on Sunday September 9, 2012.

La Vuelta will start in the north of Spain in Pamplona and Madrid, and will have 21 stages over some 3,300 kilometers.

Breakdown of stages:
11 flat stages,
8 stages of middle and high mountain,
1 team time-trial stage.
1 individual time trial stage,

The race features some big stars in the international peloton as: Alberto Contador, Chris Froome, Cobo, Joaquin Rodriguez, Denis Menchov, Damiano Cunego, Igor Anton, Robert Gesink, Thomas De Gent, Alejandro Valverde, Juanma Garate.

The 2012 La Vuelta Espana route
The stages of the 2012 La Vuelta Espana

The stages
Stage Type Date Start and Finish Distance
1 Teams time-trial Saturday 18 August Pamplona > Pamplona 16,5 km
2 Plain Sunday 19 August Pamplona > Viana 181,4 km
3 Mountains Monday 20 August Faustino V > Eibar (Arrate) 155,3 km
4 Mountains Tuesday 21 August Barakaldo > Estación de Valdezcaray 160,6 km
5 Plain Wednesday 22 August Logroño > Logroño 168,0 km
6 Plain Thursday 23 August Tarazona > Jaca 175,4 km
7 Plain Friday 24 August Huesca > Alcañiz. Motorland Aragón 164,2 km
8 Mountains Saturday 25 August Lleida > Andorra. Collada de la Gallina 174,7 km
9 Plain Sunday 26 August Andorra > Barcelona 196,3 km
Rest Day Monday 27 August
10 Plain Tuesday 28 August Ponteareas > Sanxenxo 190,0 km
11 Time-trial Wednesday 29 August Cambados > Pontevedra 39,4 km
12 Plain Thursday 30 August Vilagarcía de Arousa > Mirador de Ézaro 190,5 km
13 Plain Friday 31 August Santiago de Compostela > Ferrol 172,8 km
14 Mountains Saturday 1 September Palas de Rei > Puerto de Ancares 149,2 km
15 Mountains Sunday 2 September La Robla > Lagos de Covadonga 186,5 km
16 Mountains Monday 3 September Gijón > Valgrande-Pajares. Cuitu Negru 183,5 km
Rest Day Tuesday 4 September
17 Plain Wednesday – 5 September Santander > Fuente Dé 187,3 km
18 Plain Thursday 6 September Aguilar de Campoo > Valladolid 204,5 km
19 Plain Friday 7 September Peñafiel > La Lastrilla 178,4 km
20 Mountains Saturday 8 September La Faisanera Golf. > Bola del Mundo 170,7 km
21 Plain Sunday 9 September Cercedilla > Madrid 115,0 km