La Vuelta Espana 2013 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2013 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2013 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights until 2020.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live. The La Vuelta Espana will be shown live on ITV4 and British Eurosport, with a comprehensive package of television coverage for British viewers. Eurosport have La Vuelta Espana broadcast rights until 2020.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2013 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free.


The 2013 La Vuelta Espana route

Running from Saturday August 24th to Sunday September 15th 2013, the 68th Vuelta a España will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3.358,9 kilometres.

These stages have the following profiles:
6 flat stages
13 mountain stages
1 team time-trial stage
1 individual time-trial stage

Distinctive aspects of the race
2 rest days
27 km team time-trial
38 km individual time-trial stage
39 mountain passes and hills

The 2013 La Vuelta Espana route

The stages
Stage Type Date Start and Finish Distance
1 Teams time-trial Saturday 24 August Vilanova de Arousa > Sanxenxo 27,4 km
2 Mountains Sunday 25 August Pontevedra > Baiona. Alto Do Monte Da Groba 177,7 km
3 Plain Monday 26 August Vigo > Mirador de Lobeira / Vilagarcía de Arousa 184,8 km
4 Mountains Tuesday 27 August Lalín/a Estrada > Finisterra. Etapa Fin del Mundo 189 km
5 Mountains Wednesday 28 August Sober > Lago de Sanabria 174,3 km
6 Plain Thursday 29 August GuiThulo > Cáceres 175 km
7 Plain Friday 30 August Almendralejo > Mairena de Aljarafe 205,9 km
8 Mountains Saturday 31 August Jerez de la Frontera > Estepona. Alto Peñas Blancas 166,6 km
9 Mountains Sunday 01 September Antequera > Valdepeñas de Jaén 163,7 km
10 Mountains Monday 02 September Torredelcampo > Güéjar Sierra. Alto Hazallanas 186,8 km
Rest Day Tuesday 03 September
11 Time-trial Wednesday 04 September Tarazona > Tarazona 38,8 km
12 Plain Thursday 05 September Maella > Tarragona 164,2 km
13 Mountains Friday 06 September Valls > Castelldefels 169 km
14 Mountains Saturday 7 September Bagà > Andorra. Collada de la Gallina 155,7 km
15 Mountains Sunday 8 September Andorra > Peyragudes 224,9 km
16 Mountains Monday 9 September Graus > Sallent de Gállego. Aramón Formigal 146,8 km
Rest Day Tuesday 10 September
17 Plain Wednesday – 11 September Calahorra > Burgos 189 km
18 Mountains Thursday 12 September Burgos > Peña Cabarga 186,5 km
19 Mountains Friday 13 September S. Vicente Barquera > Oviedo.Alto Naranco 181 km
20 Mountains Saturday 14 September Avilés > Alto de L´Angliru 142,2 km
21 Plain Sunday 15 September Leganés > Madrid 109,6 km