La Vuelta Espana 2017 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2016 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2017 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights. Some stages may be covered live by ITV.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2017 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free via a TV aerial.

Other coverage will be on BeIN Sports MENA, VRT (Belgium), NOS (Netherlands)


The 2017 La Vuelta Espana route

Running from Saturday August 19th to Sunday September 10th 2017, the Vuelta will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,324.1 kilometres.

  • 5 flat stages and 1 flat with high-altitude finales stage
  • 8 hill stages
  • 5 mountain stages
  • 1 individual time trial stage
  • 1 team time trial stage
Distinctive aspects of the race

  • 40.2 km individual time trial
  • 13.7 km team time trial
  • 50 summits
  • 2 rest days

1 Team time trial Saturday, August 19th Nîmes / Nîmes 13.7 km
2 Flat Sunday, August 20th Nîmes / Gruissan. Grand Narbonne. Aude 203.4 km
3 Mountain Monday, August 21st Prades Conflent Canigó / Andorra la Vella 158.5 km
4 Flat Tuesday, August 22nd Escaldes-Engordany / Tarragona. Anella Mediterránea 2018 198.2 km
5 Hilly Wednesday, August 23rd Benicàssim / Alcossebre 175.7 km
6 Hilly Thursday, August 24th Vila-real / Sagunt 204.4 km
7 Hilly Friday, August 25th Llíria / Cuenca. Ciudad Patrimonio de la Humanidad 207 km
8 Hilly Saturday, August 26th Hellín / Xorret de Catí. Costa Blanca Interior 199.5 km
9 Flat Sunday, August 27th Orihuela. Ciudad del Poeta Miguel Hernández / Cumbre del Sol. El Poble Nou de Benitatxell 174 km
Rest day Monday, August 28th Provincia de Alicante
10 Flat Tuesday, August 29th Caravaca Año Jubilar 2017 / ElPozo Alimentación 164.8 km
11 Hilly Wednesday, August 30th Lorca / Observatorio Astronómico de Calar Alto 187.5 km
12 Hilly Thursday, August 31st Motril / Antequera. Los Dólmenes 160.1 km
13 Flat Friday, September 1st Coín / Tomares 198.4 km
14 Mountain Saturday, September 2nd Écija / Sierra de La Pandera 175 km
15 Mountain Sunday, September 3rd Alcalá la Real / Sierra Nevada. Alto Hoya de la Mora. Monachil 129.4 km
Rest day Monday, September 4th Logroño
16 Individual time trial Tuesday, September 5th Circuito de Navarra / Logroño 40.2 km
17 Mountain Wednesday, September 6th Villadiego / Los Machucos. Monumento Vaca Pasiega 180.5 km
18 Hilly Thursday, September 7th Suances / Santo Toribio de Liébana 169 km
19 Hilly Friday, September 8th Caso. Parque Natural de Redes / Gijón 149.7 km
20 Mountain Saturday, September 9th Corvera de Asturias / Alto de l’Angliru 117.5 km
21 Flat Sunday, September 10th Arroyomolinos / Madrid 117.6 km