La Vuelta Espana 2018 TV Coverage


La Vuelta Espana 2018 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2016 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2018 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights. Some stages may be covered live by ITV.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2018 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free via a TV aerial.

Other coverage will be on BeIN Sports MENA, VRT (Belgium), NOS (Netherlands)


The 2018 La Vuelta Espana route

Running from Saturday August 25th to Sunday September 16th 2018, the Vuelta will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,271.4 kilometres.

  • 6 flat stages and 2 flat with high-altitude finales stages
  • 6 hill stages
  • 5 mountain stages
  • 2 individual time trial stages

Distinctive aspects of the race

  • 40.7 km individual time trial
  • 46 summits
  • 2 rest days

1Individual time trialSaturday, August 25thMálaga / Málaga8 km
2FlatSunday, August 26thMarbella / Caminito del Rey163.9 km
3HillyMonday, August 27thMijas / Alhaurín de la Torre182.5 km
4HillyTuesday, August 28thVélez-Málaga / Alfacar. Sierra de la Alfaguara162 km
5HillyWednesday, August 29thGranada / Roquetas de Mar188 km
6FlatThursday, August 30thHuércal-Overa / San Javier. Mar Menor153 km
7FlatFriday, August 31stPuerto Lumbreras / Pozo Alcón182 km
8FlatSaturday, September 1stLinares / Almadén195.5 km
9MountainSunday, September 2ndTalavera de la Reina / La Covatilla195 km
Rest dayMonday, September 3rd
10FlatTuesday, September 4thSalamanca. VIII Centenario Universidad de Salamanca / Fermoselle. Bermillo de Sayago172.5 km
11HillyWednesday, September 5thMombuey / Ribeira Sacra. Luintra208.8 km
12HillyThursday, September 6thMondoñedo / Faro de Estaca de Bares. Mañón177.5 km
13MountainFriday, September 7thCandás. Carreño / Valle de Sabero. La Camperona175.5 km
14MountainSaturday, September 8thCistierna / Les Praeres. Nava167 km
15MountainSunday, September 9thRibera de Arriba / Lagos de Covadonga185.5 km
Rest dayMonday, September 10th
16Individual time trialTuesday, September 11thSantillana del Mar / Torrelavega32.7 km
17HillyWednesday, September 12thGetxo / Balcón de Bizkaia166.4 km
18FlatThursday, September 13thEjea de los Caballeros / Lleida180.5 km
19FlatFriday, September 14thLleida / Andorra. Naturlandia157 km
20MountainSaturday, September 15thAndorra. Escaldes-Engordany / Coll de la Gallina. Santuario de Canolich105.8 km
21FlatSunday, September 16thAlcorcón / Madrid112.3 km