Olympics 2016 Rio

Olympics 2016 Rio

The 2016 Summer Olympics officially known as the Games of the XXXI Olympiad, and commonly known as Rio 2016, will take place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from 5 to 21 August 2016.

The games will feature 28 sports — including rugby sevens and golf, which were added by the International Olympic Committee in 2009


Olympics 2016 TV Coverage

The 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro will be televised by a number of broadcasters throughout the world. As with previous years, Olympic Broadcasting Services will produce the world feed provided to local broadcasters for use in their coverage. In most regions, broadcast rights to the 2016 Summer Olympics were packaged together with those for the 2014 Winter Olympics, but some broadcasters obtained rights to further games as well.


Olympics 2016 BBC TV Coverage

The majority of BBC coverage will be on BBC1, BBC2, and online on the BBC Sport app.

It is expected that the the BBC announce that they will also provide additional streams during the course of the 2016 Olympics to cover additional events not covered on the normal channels. These streams will be made available free to satellite users, with a Sky box, a Freesat box, or other satellite receiver.

BBC Red Button Olympic Stream Channel Numbers on Sky Digiboxes and Freesat Set Top Boxes.

BBC Red Button Olympic Stream satellite frequencies



Olympics 2016 on Spanish TV

You can watch the Rio Olympics on Spanish TV. Spanish broadcaster TVE has the broadcast rights for the Olympics. Their channels TVE1, Teledeportes, and TVE HD will be showing the Olympics in Spain. These cannels are available for free, with no subscription, via a TV aerial and a digital terrestrial set top box.


Olympics 2016 Worldwide Broadcasters

Asia – Dentsu1
Australia – Seven Network
Austria – ORF
Azerbaijan – İTV
Belgium – VRT
Brazil – Rede Globo Rede Record Rede Bandeirantes ESPN Fox Sports
Canada – Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
China- CCTV
Czech Republic – TV Nova
Denmark – DR TV2
Finland – Yle
France – France Télévisions Canal+
Germany – ARD ZDF
Greece – ERT
Ireland – RTÉ
Italy – Sky Italia RAI
Middle East – ASBU
Netherlands – NOS
New Zealand – Sky Television
Norway – TV 2
Poland – TVP
Portugal – RTP Sport TV
South Africa – SABC SuperSport
Spain – RTVE
Switzerland – SRG SSR
United Kingdom – BBC
United States – NBC