Wimbledon Tennis on TV

Wimbledon Tennis on TV

The Championships, Wimbledon, often referred to as Wimbledon, is the oldest tennis tournament in the world. It is held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London over two weeks in late June and early July. Wimbledon is the only major still played on grass.


Wimbledon Tennis on TV – TV Coverage and Schedules

The 2023 Wimbledon Tennis on TV – TV Coverage and broadcasters



Wimbledon Tennis on TV – TV Coverage History

One of the BBC Sports most prized pieces of sport is the Wimbledon Tennis Championships.

The BBC has televised Wimbledon since 1937 and today produces over 900 hours of footage for display in 159 different countries.

BBC One and BBC Two show coverage each day. Some additional coverage will also be available via the BBC Red Button “Streams”.

At 8pm on BBC Two, Today at Wimbledon looks back at the main action and major talking points of the days play at Wimbledon.

In 2013  the BBC showed the men’s and women’s finals LIVE in 3D.

In 2013 the BBC extended its UK TV coverage of Wimbledon to 2017, in a new deal with the Wimbledon All England Club

In 2015 the BBC extended its UK TV coverage of Wimbledon to 2020, in a new deal with the Wimbledon All England Club, extending the longest running partnership in sports broadcasting history.

In 2016, the BBC extended its contract to cover Wimbledon until 2024.

In 2018, the BBC signed a sub rights deal with Eurosport, allowing Eurosport to show a daily highlights programme, and the mens and womens finals live.

In 2021, The BBC and the All England Club announced a three-year extension to their broadcast partnership, giving the BBC the domestic rights to broadcast The Championships, Wimbledon up to and including 2027. The longest partnership in sports broadcasting history celebrates 85 years of television in 2022, and this new extension will see 100 years of radio in 2027.



Wimbledon On Spanish TV

Wimbledon is shown on Spanish TV. The current rights holders to show Wimbledon tennis in Spain are Movistar+ (formally Digital+), the Spanish satellite Pay TV service. Movistar+ will broadcast live in HD all the matches from the tournament. With multiscreen technology, viewers can choose among the matches which are being played at the same time during the first week of the tournament. Sometimes, in previous years some Wimbledon tennis matches involving Spanish players such as Rafa Nadal or Javea’s own David Ferrer, are also shown live and free on a Spanish Digital TV channel.


Wimbledon On French TV

Wimbledon is shown on French TV. The current rights holders to show Wimbledon tennis in France are beIN Sports, the Pay TV service.


Wimbledon On Italian TV

Wimbledon is shown on Italian TV. The current rights holders to show Wimbledon tennis in Italy are Sky Italia, the Pay TV service.


Wimbledon On German TV

Wimbledon is shown on German TV. The current rights holders to show Wimbledon tennis in German are Sky Deutschland, the Pay TV service.


Wimbledon On Belgium TV

Wimbledon is shown on Belgium TV. The current rights holders to show Wimbledon tennis in Belgium are VRT and Eurosport, the Pay TV service.






Host broadcaster – the BBC

Until 2018, the BBC was the host broadcaster. In 2018, Wimbledon started to produce its own broadcasts, allowing access to all 18 courts for all rights holders.

Contracted broadcasters for 2022
UK – BBC / Eurosport

Albania – S4W
Africa  –  Canal Plus International (Afrique)
Armenia – Saran Sport
Asia – Eclat
Australia – Nine
Azerbaijan –  Saran Sport / CBC Sport
Baltics (Estonia, Latvia,Lithuania) – Saran Sport
Belgium – Eurosport
Bosnia & Herz – Sportklub
Brazil – TV Globo / ESPN Brazil
Bulgaria – Eurosport
Canada – TSN Canada
China – CCTV5 (Mandarin) / IQIYI
Cyprus – CYTA
Croatia – Sportklub / Eurosport
Denmark – TV2
Estonia – Saran Sport
Finland – Eurosport
France – beIN Sports
Georgia – Saran Sport / Adjara
Germany – Sky Deutschland
Greece – Nova
Hungary – Eurosport
Iceland – Eurosport
India – Star India
Israel – Sports Channel (Sport 5)
Italy – Sky Italia / Super Tennis
Japan – NHK / NHK World / WOWOW
Kazakhstan – Saran Sport / Setanta
Kosovo – S4W / DigitALB (Supersport Channel) / Artmotion
Kazakhstan – Saran Sport / Qsport
Latin America / South America – ESPN Latin America (ESPN Sur)
Latvia – Saran Sport / TV3
Lithuania – Saran Sport
Macau – CCTV
Macedonia – Sportklub
Malta – Go Multiplus
Middle East – beIN Sports MENA
Moldova – EBEL
Montenegro – Sportklub
Netherlands – Eurosport / ZIGGO
New Zealand – Sky NZ
Norway – Eurosport
Pacific Islands – Digicel
Poland – Polsat
Portugal –  Sport TV
Romania – Eurosport
Slovakia – Eurosport
Slovenia – SPORTKLUB
South Africa – Supersport
Spain – Telefonica/Movistar +
Sweden – Eurosport
Switzerland – SRG/SSR TV (RTS, RSI, SRF)
Taiwan – Sportscast
Tajikistan – Saran Sport
Turkey/The Stans – Saran Sport / S Sport / TRT
Turkmenistan – Saran Sport
Ukraine – Setanta
Uzbekistan – Saran Sport
US – ESPN / Tennis Channel