Tour de France 2017 TV Coverage

Tour de France 2017 TV Coverage

The Tour de France is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout France and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Paris. There are similar races in Italy and Spain but the Tour de France is the oldest, the most prestigious and the best known.


Tour de France 2017 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of the Tour de France

The Tour de France will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with many of the stages live

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live. The Tour de France will be shown live on ITV4 and British Eurosport, with a comprehensive package of television coverage for British viewers.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.

Tour de France 2017 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering Le Tour – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free.


The 2017 Tour de France route

Running from Saturday July 1st to Sunday July 23rd 2017, the 104th Tour de France will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,516 kilometres.

9 flat stages
5 hilly stages
5 mountain stages including altitude finishes (La Planche des Belles Filles, Peyragudes, Izoard)
2 individual time-trials stages
2 rest days

tour de france 2017 route map

1 Saturday, July 1st Düsseldorf / Düsseldorf 13 km
2 Sunday, July 2nd Düsseldorf / Liège 202 km
3 Monday, July 3rd Verviers / Longwy 202 km
4 Tuesday, July 4th Mondorf-les-Bains / Vittel 203 km
5 Wednesday, July 5th Vittel / La planche des belles filles 160 km
6 Thursday, July 6th Vesoul / Troyes 216 km
7 Friday, July 7th Troyes / Nuits-Saint-Georges 214 km
8 Saturday, July 8th Dole / Station des rousses 187 km
9 Sunday, July 9th Nantua / Chambéry 181 km
– Rest day Monday, July 10th Dordogne
10 Tuesday, July 11th Périgueux / Bergerac 178 km
11 Wednesday, July 12th Eymet / Pau 202 km
12 Thursday, July 13th Pau / Peyragudes 214 km
13 Friday, July 14th Saint-Girons / Foix 100 km
14 Saturday, July 15th Blagnac / Rodez 181 km
15 Sunday, July 16th Laissac-Sévérac l’Église / Le Puy-en-Velay 189 km
– Rest day Monday, July 17th Le Puy-en-Velay
16 Tuesday, July 18th Le Puy-en-Velay / Romans-sur-Isère 165 km
17 Wednesday, July 19th La Mure / Serre-Chevalier 183 km
18 Thursday, July 20th Briançon / Izoard 178 km
19 Friday, July 21st Embrun / Salon-de-Provence 220 km
20 Saturday, July 22nd Marseille / Marseille 23 km
21 Sunday, July 23rd Montgeron / Paris Champs-Élysées 105 km