Olympics 2012 London


Olympics 2012 London

Olympics 2012 London

The 2012 Summer Olympic Games, officially known as the Games of the XXX Olympiad or “London Olympics 2012”, took place in London, England, United Kingdom from 27 July to 12 August 2012.

The 2012 Summer Olympics will see various television broadcasters, with Olympic Broadcasting Services (OBS) the host broadcasting organisation for globe television broadcasting.


Olympics 2012 TV Coverage

The home broadcaster will be the BBC, who will broadcast all 5000 hours of competition through various channels.

The majority of BBC coverage will be on BBC1, BBC2 and BBC Three, with high definition coverage available on BBC1 HD and BBC HD.

The BBC have also announce that they will also provide 24 streams during the course of the 2012 Olympics. These streams will be in both standard definition and high definition and will show uninterrupted coverage of the various sports of the 2012 Olympics. These streams will be made available free to satellite users, with a Sky box, a Freesat box, or other satellite receiver.

Using these brand new red button services and via the standard EPG platform listings, viewers will be able to switch seamlessly between 24 SD or HD channels. Pressing red on any BBC TV channel will enable audiences to find and watch the events they like, when they like, through simple five button navigation (up, down, left, right, OK). The channels on each red button service will only show the Olympics sports as they are taking place, as well as highlighting what is coming up later.


BBC Olympic Streams frequencies:

Freesat box users will see these channels added to the Freesat channel list – from Freesat channel 150. It is expected that a “Red Button” menu service will also be available to Freesat users.

Sky box users will see these channels added to the Sky channel list – they are expected to be available from Sky channel 450 (unconfirmed) It is expected that a “Red Button” menu service will also be available to Sky users.

These channels will be able to be recorded on Freesat+, Sky+ and Sky+HD boxes.

Users of other boxes will have to rescan these frequencies to add the channels to their channel list.

At the moment the channels are only showing test feeds.

The BBC have indicated that they would be having 24 feeds, so expect some more streams to appear on other frequencies shortly.


Eurosport will broadcast the Games throughout the continent of Europe.


Olympics 2012 in 3D

The BBC has confirmed its 3D television plans for the London 2012 Olympic Games, including live coverage of the prestigious Men’s 100 meters final.

The corporation will show certain events from the games in live 3D on all platforms in the UK using its BBC HD channel, similar to the approach it took with the Wimbledon finals last year.

Live 3D coverage will include the Opening Ceremony, Closing Ceremony and the Men’s 100m final, while a nightly highlights package will air at the end of each day.

Eurosport will also be offering 3D
coverage of the Olympics, in a deal with Sky, which will be shown on the Sky 3D channel.


Olympics 2012 on Spanish TV

You can watch the London 2012 Olympics on Spanish TV. Spanish broadcaster TVE has the broadcast rights for the Olympics. Their channels TVE1, Teledeportes, and TVE HD will be showing the Olympics in Spain. These channels are available for free, with no subscription, via a TV aerial and a digital terrestrial set top box.


Olympics 2012 Worldwide Broadcasters

Argentina – TyC
Asia – Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union / ESPN Asia
Australia – 2GB / Foxtel / Nine Network
Bulgaria – BNT
Brazil – BandSports / ESPN Brasil / Rede Record / SporTV
Canada – CTV Olympics (CTV / RDS / Sportsnet / TSN)
Caribbean – International Media Content Limited
Chile – Canal 13 / TVN
China – CCTV
Colombia – Caracol TV
Chinese Taipei – ELTA
Cuba – ICRT
Europe – Eurosport / European Broadcasting Union
France – France Télévisions
Germany – ARD / ZDF
Hong Kong – i-Cable
Italy – RAI / Sky Italia
Jamaica – CVM Television
Japan – NHK
Latin America – Grupo Albavisión1 / Terra Networks2
Macau – CCTV
Malaysia – RTM
Mexico – Televisa
Middle East – Arab States Broadcasting Union
New Zealand – Prime / Sky Network Television
North Korea – SBS
Panama – Corporación Medcom
Peru – América Televisión
Philippines – Solar Entertainment Corporation
Portugal – RTP
Singapore – mio TV
South Africa – SABC / SuperSport
South Korea – SBS
South America – ESPN Latin America3
Sub-Saharan Africa – Octagon / SABC / SuperSport
Spain – RTVE
Sri Lanka – SLRC
Sweden – SVT
Switzerland – SRG SSR
Turkey – TRT
United Kingdom – BBC
United States – NBC / NBC Sports Network
Venezuela – teleSUR