Six Nations Rugby on TV 2016

Six Nations Rugby on TV 2016

The Six Nations Championship is an annual international rugby union competition.

The Six Nations involves six European national sides: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

The 2016 Six Nations takes place between 6 February to 19 March 2016.

It is currently sponsored by the Royal Bank of Scotland, and also known as the RBS Six Nations.


Six Nations TV Coverage – Six Nations Broadcasters

The BBC have had live coverage of the Six Nations since its inception.
In 2011 it was announced that the BBC’s coverage of the tournament on TV, radio and online, would be extended to 2017.

However, in 2016 it was announced that the BBC had renegotiated its deal and would start to share UK TV coverage of the Six Nations with ITV, for the next six years.
Under this deal all England, Ireland and Italy home matches will be live on ITV; all Wales, Scotland and France home matches will be live on BBC: all Wales matches live on S4C.
BBC Radio 5 live will continue live commentary of all matches, which will be available on the BBC Sport website.

In Ireland, RTÉ have broadcast the championship since their inception and will continue to do so until 2017 while TG4 televises highlights.

France Télévision will cover the competition in France which will last until 2017.

In Italy, from 2014 to 2017 DMAX of Discovery Communications will broadcast all matches.

In Wales, S4C broadcasts matches featuring the national team using the BBC’s feed with Welsh language commentary.

Movistar+ / Canal+ in Spain will also be showing Six Nations matches live.


Six Nations Rugby on TV 2016 Match Schedule

Six Nations Rugby on TV – BBC Trailer

BBC Six Nations fixtures (2016-21)
Scotland v England, Wales v England, France v England, Scotland v Wales, Scotland v Ireland, Scotland v France, Scotland v Italy, Wales v Scotland, Wales v Ireland, Wales v France, Wales v Italy, France v Scotland, France v Wales, France v Ireland, France v Italy.
ITV Six Nations fixtures (2016-21)
England v Scotland, England v Wales, England v Ireland, England v France, England v Italy, Ireland v England, Italy v England, Ireland v Scotland, Ireland v Wales, Ireland v France, Ireland v Italy, Italy v Scotland, Italy v Wales, Italy v Ireland, Italy v France.

Round 1

France v  Italy – FR2, DMAX, BBC, RTE / ITV(H)

Scotland v  England – BBC, RTE, FR2, DMAX / ITV (H)

Ireland v Wales – RTE, ITV, FR2, S4C, DMAX / BBC (H)


Round 2

France v Ireland – FR2, RTE, BBC, DMAX / ITV (H)

Wales v Scotland – BBC, RTE, S4C,FR2, DMAX / ITV (H)

Italy v England  – DMAX, ITV, RTE, FR2 / BBC (H)


Round 3

Wales v France – BBC, FR2, S4C, RTE, DMAX / ITV (H)

Italy v Scotland – DMAX, ITV, RTE, FR2 / BBC (H)

England v Ireland – ITV, RTE, FR2, DMAX / BBC (H)


Round 4

Ireland v Italy – RTE, DMAX, ITV, FR2 / BBC (H)

England v Wales – ITV, RTE, S4C, FR2, DMAX / BBC (H)

Scotland v France – BBC, FR2, RTE, DMAX / ITV (H)


Round 5

Wales v Italy – BBC, DMAX, S4C, RTE, FR2 / ITV (H)

Ireland v Scotland – RTE, ITV, FR2 , DMAX / BBC (H)

France v England – FR2, BBC, RTE, DMAX / ITV (H)