La Vuelta Espana 2014 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2014 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2014 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights until 2020.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live. The La Vuelta Espana will be shown live on ITV4 and British Eurosport, with a comprehensive package of television coverage for British viewers. Eurosport have La Vuelta Espana broadcast rights until 2020.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2014 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free.


The 2014 La Vuelta Espana route

Running from Saturday August 23rd to Sunday September 14th 2014, the Vuelta will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3239,9 kilometres.

These stages have the following profiles:
5 flat stages
13 mountain stages
1 team time-trial stage
2 individual time-trial stage

Distinctive aspects of the race
12 km team time-trial
44 km individual time-trial stage
40 mountain passes and hills

The 2014 La Vuelta Espana route


NrDateStart and finishLengthType
1Sa 23 AugVuelta 2014 stage 1 Jerez de la Frontera – Jerez de la Frontera12.6 kmTTT
2Su 24 AugVuelta 2014 stage 2 Algeciras – San Fernando174,4 kmflat
3Mo 25 AugVuelta 2014 stage 3 Cádiz – Arcos de la Frontera189,8 kmhilly
4Tu 26 AugVuelta 2014 stage 4 Mairena del Alcor – Córdoba173.4 kmhilly
5We 27 AugVuelta 2014 stage 5 Priego de Córdoba – Ronda (Málaga)180.0 kmflat
6Th 28 AugVuelta 2014 stage 6 Benalmádena (Málaga) – La Zubia (Cumbres Verdes)167.1 kmmountains
7Fr 29 AugVuelta 2014 stage 7 Alhendín – Alcaudete169.0 kmhilly
8Sa 30 AugVuelta 2014 stage 8 Baeza (Jaén) – Albacete207.0 kmflat
9Su 31 AugVuelta 2014 stage 9 Carboneras de Guadazón – Estación Valdelinares185.0 kmmountains
Mo 1 Seprest day
10Tu 2 SepVuelta 2014 stage 10 Real Lunasterio De Santa María De Veruela – Borja36.2 kmITT
11We 3 SepVuelta 2014 stage 11 Pamplona – Santuario De San Miguel De Aralar153.4 kmmountains
12Th 4 SepVuelta 2014 stage 12 Logroño-Logroño165.4 kmflat
13Fr 5 SepVuelta 2014 stage 13 Belorado (Burgos) – Obregón. Parque De Cabárceno188.7 kmhilly
14Sa 6 SepVuelta 2014 stage 14 Santander – La Camperona (Valle De Sábero)200.8 kmmountains
15Su 7 SepVuelta 2014 stage 15 Oviedo – Lagos de Covadonga152.2 kmmountains
16Mo 8 SepVuelta 2014 stage 16 San Martín del Rey Aurelio – Lagos de Somiedo160.5 kmmountains
Tu 9 Seprest day
17We 10 SepVuelta 2014 stage 17 Ortigueira (Coruña) – A Coruña190.7 kmflat
18Th 11 SepVuelta 2014 stage 18 A Estrada (Pontevedra) – Monte Castrove161.0 kmhilly
19Fr 12 SepVuelta 2014 stage 19 Salvaterra de Miño – Cangas do Morrazo180.5 kmmountains
20Sa 13 SepVuelta 2014 stage 20 Santa Estevo de Ribas de Sil – Puerto de Ancares185.7 kmmountains
21Su 14 SepVuelta 2014 stage 21 Santiago de Compostela – Santiago de Compostela9.7 kmITT