La Vuelta Espana 2019 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana 2016 TV Coverage

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.


La Vuelta Espana 2019 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of La Vuelta Espana

La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV ITV
La Vuelta Espana on Satellite TV eurosport

The La Vuelta Espana will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with highlights. Some stages may be covered live by ITV.

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription package.

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


La Vuelta Espana 2019 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering La Vuelta Espana – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free via a TV aerial.

Other coverage will be on BeIN Sports MENA, VRT (Belgium), NOS (Netherlands)


The 2019 La Vuelta Espana route

Running from Saturday August 24th to Sunday September 15th 2019, the Vuelta will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3272 kilometres.

  • 6 flat stages
  • 4 hilly stages
  • 9 mountain stages
  • 1 individual time-trial stage
  • 1 team time-trial stage
  • 2 rest days





StageTypeDateStart and FinishDistance
1 Team Time-TrialSaturday, august 24, 2019Salinas de Torrevieja > Torrevieja18 km 
2 HillySunday, august 25, 2019Benidorm > Calpe193 km 
3 FlatMonday, august 26, 2019Ibi. Ciudad del Juguete > Alicante186 km 
4 FlatTuesday, august 27, 2019Cullera > El Puig177 km 
5 HillyWednesday, august 28, 2019L’ Eliana > Observatorio Astrofísico de Javalambre165.6 km 
6 HillyThursday, august 29, 2019Mora de Rubielos > Ares del Maestrat196.6 km 
7 MountainFriday, august 30, 2019Onda > Mas de la Costa182.4 km 
8 HillySaturday, august 31, 2019Valls > Igualada168 km 
9 MountainSunday, september 1, 2019Andorra la Vella > Cortals d’Encamp96.6 km 
Rest DayMonday, september 2, 2019Cortals d’Encamp 
10 Individual time-trialTuesday, september 3, 2019Jurançon > Pau36.1 km 
11 MountainWednesday, september 4, 2019Saint Palais > Urdax-Dantxarinea169 km 
12 MountainThursday, september 5, 2019Circuito de Navarra > Bilbao175 km 
13 MountainFriday, september 6, 2019Bilbao > Los Machucos. Monumento Vaca Pasiega167.3 km 
14 FlatSaturday, september 7, 2019San Vicente de la Barquera > Oviedo189 km 
15 MountainSunday, september 8, 2019Tineo > Santuario del Acebo159 km 
16 MountainMonday, september 9, 2019Pravia > Alto de La Cubilla. Lena155 km 
Rest DayTuesday, september 10, 2019Alto de La Cubilla. Lena 
17 FlatWednesday, september 11, 2019Aranda de Duero > Guadalajara199.7 km 
18 MountainThursday, september 12, 2019Comunidad de Madrid. Colmenar Viejo > Becerril de la Sierra180.9 km 
19 FlatFriday, september 13, 2019Ávila > Toledo163.4 km 
20 MountainSaturday, september 14, 2019Arenas de San Pedro > Plataforma de Gredos189 km 
21 FlatSunday, september 15, 2019Fuenlabrada > Madrid105.6 km