Nov 082013

2013 William Hill Grand Slam of Darts Schedule

REIGNING William Hill Grand Slam of Darts champion Raymond van Barneveld will take on shooting star Ricky Evans in the opening session of the £400,000 tournament on Saturday November 9 as the nine-day event begins in Wolverhampton.  Dutch legend van Barneveld heads Group E for the round-robin stage of the Sky Sports-televised event, which sees the 32 players split into eight groups of four players, with the top two from each group progressing to the knockout stage from the second round onwards


Saturday November 9  Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm)  Groups E-H First Games  Robert Thornton v Mark Walsh (F)  Andy Hamilton v Justin Pipe (F)  Scott Waites v Ted Hankey (H)  Dave Chisnall v Michael Smith (H)  Wes Newton v Mark Webster (G)  Simon Whitlock v Ross Smith (G)  Mervyn King v Tony O’Shea (E)  Raymond van Barneveld v Ricky Evans (E)

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)  Gary Anderson v Wesley Harms (B)  James Wade v Peter Wright (B)  Christian Kist v Ronny Huybrechts (C)  Adrian Lewis v Richie George (C)  Kevin Painter v Paul Nicholson (A)  Phil Taylor v Stuart Kellett (A)  Michael van Gerwen v Vincent van der Voort (D)  Kim Huybrechts v Dean Winstanley (D)

Sunday November 10  Afternoon Session (1.30pm-5.30pm)  Groups E-H Second Games  Saturday’s winning players meet each other, and Saturday’s losing players meet each other.

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)  Groups A-D Second Games  Saturday’s winning players meet each other, and Saturday’s losing players meet each other.

Monday November 11 (7pm-11pm)  Groups E-H Final Games

Tuesday November 12 (7pm-11pm)  Groups A-D Final Games

Wednesday November 13 (7pm-11pm)  4x Second Round Matches  Winner Group E v Runner-Up Group F  Winner Group F v Runner-Up Group E  Winner Group G v Runner-Up Group H  Winner Group H v Runner-Up Group G

Thursday November 14 (7pm-11pm)  4x Second Round Matches  Winner Group A v Runner-Up Group B  Winner Group B v Runner-Up Group A  Winner Group C v Runner-Up Group D  Winner Group D v Runner-Up Group C

Friday November 15 (7pm-11pm)  2x Quarter-Finals

Saturday November 16 (7pm-11pm)  2x Quarter-Finals

Sunday November 17  Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm)  Semi-Finals

Evening Session (7pm-9pm)  Final

Format Group Matches – Best of nine legs Second Round – Best of 19 legs Quarter-Finals – Best of 31 legs Semi-Finals – Best of 31 legs Final – Best of 31 legs

Jan 232013

The BBC have announced that they will broadcast Andy Murray’s Australian Open semi-final against Roger Federer on BBC Two on Friday 25 January from 8.15am.

A ruthless Andy Murray swept aside France’s Jeremy Chardy in a straight sets quarter-final win 6-4, 6-1, 6-2 to secure a place in the semi-finals. Murray, the third seed, will now face Roger Federer in the last four after the world number two beat Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in five sets.

Andy Murray was a finalist in Melbourne in 2010 and 2011, has yet to drop a set at this year’s event, although the US Open champion is set to face a much harder test in the last four against 17-time Grand Slam winner Roger Federer, who has reached his 10th straight Melbourne semi-final.  The match will broadcast live from the Rod Laver Arena on BBC Two at 8.15am on Friday.

BBC coverage will also be available in high definition on the BBC HD Channel and will be presented by Sue Barker with Andrew Castle and John Lloyd.

Australian Open Tennis – BBC Broadcast Schedule

Friday 25 January

8.15am – Men’s Semi Final – Andy Murray v Roger Federer – LIVE on BBC Two & BBC HD

Saturday 26 January

8.25am Women’s singles final – LIVE on BBC Two & BBC HD

Sunday 27 January

8.15am Men’s singles final – LIVE on BBC Two & BBC HD