Tour de France 2012 TV Coverage

Tour de France 2012 TV Coverage

The Tour de France is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout France and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Paris. There are similar races in Italy and Spain but the Tour de France is the oldest, the most prestigious and the best known.


Tour de France 2012 TV Coverage – UK TV Coverage of the Tour de France

The Tour de France will be broadcast on ITV (mainly on ITV4) with many of the stages live

ITV4 is available for free on Freeview, cable and satellite systems. ITV4 HD is available via satellite with a Sky HD TV subscription

Eurosport (and Eurosport HD) will be covering all stages live. The Tour de France will be shown live on ITV4 and British Eurosport, with a comprehensive package of television coverage for British viewers.

British Eurosport’s coverage comprises of live action footage, plus an edited highlights show each evening.

British Eurosport is available on cable and satellite systems. It requires a Sky subscription on satellite TV.

British Eurosport HD is available the Sky HD satellite systems. It requires a Sky HD subscription.


Tour de France 2012 TV Coverage – Spanish TV Coverage of the Tour de France

Spanish TV channels will also be covering Le Tour – normally TVE 1, 2, and Teledeporte. These all available for free.


The 2012 Tour de France route

Running from Saturday June 30th to Sunday July 22th 2012, the 99th Tour de France will be made up of 1 prologue and 20 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,497 kilometres.

These stages have the following profiles:
Distinctive aspects of the race
9 flat stages
4 medium mountain stages – one with a summit finish
5 mountain stages – two with a summit finish
2 individual time-trial stages
1 prologue
2 rest days

9 new stage towns : Abbeville, Annonay Davézieux, Bellegarde-sur-Valserine, La Planche des Belles Filles, Peyragudes, Porrentruy, Samatan, Tomblaine, Visé

2012 Tour de France route

The stages of the 2012 Tour de France
Prologue Saturday 30 June Liège – Liège 6.4 km
1 Plain Sunday 1 July Liège – Seraing 198 km
2 Plain Monday 2 July Visé – Tournai 207.5 km
3 Medium mountains Tuesday 3 July Orchies – Boulogne-sur-Mer 197 km
4 Plain Wednesday 4 July Abbeville – Rouen 214.5 km
5 Plain Thursday 5 July Rouen – Saint-Quentin 196.5 km
6 Plain Friday 6 July Épernay – Metz 207.5 km
7 Medium mountains Saturday 7 July Tomblaine – La Planche des Belles Filles 199 km
8 Medium mountains Sunday 8 July Belfort – Porrentruy 157.5 km
9 Individual time-trial Monday 9 July Arc-et-Senans – Besançon 41.5 km
10 High Mountains Wednesday 11 July Mâcon – Bellegarde-sur-Valserine 194.5 km
11 High Mountains Thursday 12 July Albertville – La Toussuire – Les Sybelles 148 km
12 Medium mountains Friday 13 July Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne – Annonay Davézieux 226 km
13 Plain Saturday 14 July Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux – Le Cap d’Agde 217 km
14 High Mountains Sunday 15 July Limoux – Foix 191 km
15 Plain Monday 16 July Samatan – Pau 158.5 km
16 High Mountains Wednesday 18 July Pau – Bagnères-de-Luchon 197 km
17 High Mountains Thursday 19 July Bagnères-de-Luchon – Peyragudes 143.5 km
18 Plain Friday 20 July Blagnac – Brive-la-Gaillarde 222.5 km
19 Individual time-trial Saturday 21 July Bonneval – Chartres 53.5 km
20 Plain Sunday 22 July Rambouillet – Paris Champs-Élysées 120 km

Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) won the overall race, 3′ 21″ clear of compatriot and teammate Chris Froome.

Peter Sagan won the “Green Jersey” Points classification.

Thomas Voeckler won the “polka Dot jersey” as the King of the Mountains.