The UEFA European Championship, or simply The Euros, is a football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), determining the continental champion of Europe.

The UEFA European Championships are held every four years since 1960, in the even-numbered year between World Cup tournaments.

The UEFA European Championship was originally called the UEFA European Nations Cup, changing to the current name in 1968.

Starting with the 1996 tournament, specific championships are often referred to in the form “UEFA Euro [year]”; this format has since been retroactively applied to earlier tournaments.

Prior to entering the tournament all teams other than the host nations (which qualify automatically) compete in a qualifying process.

The 14 European Championship tournaments have been won by nine different national teams: Germany and Spain each have won three titles, France has two titles, and Soviet Union, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Netherlands, Denmark and Greece have won one title each. To date, Spain are the only side in history to have won consecutive titles, doing so in 2008 and 2012. It is the 2nd most watched football tournament in the world after the FIFA World Cup. The Euro 2012 final was watched by a global audience of around 300 million.

Euro 2012, was co-hosted by Poland and Ukraine, and was won by Spain, who beat Italy 4–0 at the final in Kiev.

Euro 2016 will be hosted in France.

Euro 2016 broadcasters can be found here.

BBC TV Coverage of Euro 2016 can be found here

TV Coverage of Euro 2020 can be found here

TV Coverage of Euro 2024 Germany  can be found here