The 2016 UEFA European Championship, commonly referred to as UEFA Euro 2016 or simply Euro 2016, will be the 15th edition of the UEFA European Championship, the quadrennial international men’s football championship of Europe organized by UEFA.

Euro 2016 is scheduled to be held in France from 10 June to 10 July 2016.

Spain are two-time defending champions.

Euro 2016 – UK TV Broadcasters

The BBC and ITV have announced how they will be sharing the coverage of the Euro 2016 Finals.

The opening match of the tournament between hosts France and Romania on 10 June will be on ITV.

The BBC will broadcast the highly anticipated home nations clash between England and Wales on 16 June while ITV will show England’s first and final group games against Russia and Slovakia.

ITV will also show Northern Ireland v Ukraine, Russia v Wales and the Republic of Ireland’s games against Belgium and Italy.

ITV will have first pick of the round of 16 while the BBC will have the first two picks of the quarter- finals

ITV have first pick of the semi-finals.

Both BBC and ITV will show the final.

BBC TV Coverage of Euro 2016

The BBC has announced it will show 140 hours of coverage of Euro 2016 across BBC One, BBC Two and BBC Four.

The BBC will showcase 26 live matches on TV and streamed online, plus there will be highlights on BBC One, BBC Two and the Red Button, plus 24 days of coverage on Radio 5 live. BBC Wales will be broadcasting output on Welsh channel S4C.

Gary Lineker leads TV coverage alongside former England captains Alan Shearer and Rio Ferdinand, and Thierry Henry. Gabby Logan will provide all the latest news and reports from the England camp, Stephen Watson will follow Northern Ireland and Jason Mohammad will report from the Wales camp alongside regular Euro 2016 updates from Eilidh Barbour across the tournament.

Mark Chapman and Kelly Cates will be at the helm on Radio 5 live alongside Caroline Barker and Dan Walker. Germany’s former number one Jens Lehmann and former Northern Ireland defender Gerry Taggart join the station’s commentary team.

There will also be multi-platform contributions throughout the tournament from John Motson, Frank Lampard and Jurgen Klinsmann. They join an impressive line-up of former internationals working across the BBC’s coverage: Danny Murphy, Jermaine Jenas, Robbie Savage, Martin Keown, John Hartson, Mark Lawrenson, Kevin Kilbane, Neil Lennon, Gerry Armstrong, Chris Waddle, Danny Mills, Pat Nevin, Chris Brunt and Trevor Sinclair.

BBC coverage of Euro 2016 will overlap with coverage from Wimbledon and Glastonbury. The BBC will be broadcasting up to five additional Red Button streams on top of its existing “BBC RB1” service, plus one in HD in order to accommodate additional coverage of all the events taking place.

Euro 2016 – Group stage game split

Friday 10 June

20.00 (ITV) France v Romania

Saturday 11 June

14.00 (BBC) Albania v Switzerland

17.00 (BBC) Wales v Slovakia

20.00 (ITV) England v Russia

Sunday 12 June

14.00 (ITV) Turkey v Croatia

17.00 (BBC) Poland v Northern Ireland

20.00 (BBC) Germany v Ukraine

Monday 13 June

14.00 (ITV) Spain v Czech Republic

17.00 (BBC) Republic of Ireland v Sweden

20.00 (BBC) Belgium v Italy

Tuesday 14 June

17.00 (ITV) Austria v Hungary

20.00 (BBC) Portugal v Iceland

Wednesday 15 June

14.00 (BBC) Russia v Slovakia

17.00 (ITV) Romania v Switzerland

20.00 (ITV) France v Albania

Thursday 16 June

14.00 (BBC) England v Wales

17.00 (ITV) Ukraine v Northern Ireland

20.00 (ITV) Germany v Poland

Friday 17 June

14.00 (ITV) Italy v Sweden

17.00 (BBC) Czech Republic v Croatia

20.00 (ITV) Spain v Turkey

Saturday 18 June

14.00 (ITV) Belgium v Republic of Ireland

17.00 (BBC) Iceland v Hungary

20.00 (BBC) Portugal v Austria

Sunday 19 June

20.00 (BBC) Romania v Albania

20.00 (BBC) Switzerland v France

Monday 20 June

20.00 (ITV) Russia v Wales

20.00 (ITV) Slovakia v England

Tuesday 21 June

17.00 (BBC) Northern Ireland v Germany

17.00 (BBC) Ukraine v Poland

20.00 (ITV) Croatia v Spain

20.00 (ITV) Czech Republic v Turkey

Wednesday 22 June

17.00 (BBC) Hungary v Portugal

17.00 (BBC) Iceland v Austria

20.00 (ITV) Italy v Republic of Ireland

20.00 (ITV) Sweden v Belgium

Euro 2016 TV Coverage in Spain

Mediaset Spain has announced an agreement with UEFA to broadcast matches from the Euro 2016 tournament which gets underway in France on June 10th.

The operator, which owns Tele 5 and Cuatro among other channels, will broadcast 23 of 51 games including all the matches featuring Spain, the defending champions.

The cost of the rights will amount to around €45 million. Comparatively in 2012, Mediaset paid €40 million for 31 matches at Euro 2012 in Poland and Ukraine.

“This is excellent news to have found an agreement with UEFA to offer coverage to all Spaniards across our TV channels and the Internet,” said the CEO of Mediaset Espana, Pablo Vasile..

Euro 2016 TV Broadcasters

Territory / Rights holder

Albania – Top Channel – SuperSport
Armenia – AMPTV
Austria – ORF – ATV
Azerbaijan – İTV
Belarus – BTRC
Belgium – VRT – RTBF
Bosnia and Herzegovina – BHRT
Bulgaria – BNT – Nova TV
Croatia – HRT
Cyprus – CyBC
Czech Republic – ČT
Denmark – DR – TV 2
Estonia – ERR
Finland – Yle
France – TF1 – M6 – beIN Sports
Georgia – GPB
Germany – ARD – ZDF – ProSiebenSat.1
Greece – ERT
Hungary – MTV
Iceland – SkjárEinn
Ireland – RTÉ – TV3
Israel – Charlton
Italy – RAI – Sky Sport
Kazakhstan – Saran Media
Kosovo – RTK – SuperSport
Latvia – LTV
Lithuania – LRT
Macedonia – MKRTV
Malta – PBS
Moldova – TRM
Montenegro – RTCG
Netherlands – NOS
Norway – NRK – TV 2
Poland – TVP – Polsat
Portugal – RTP – SportTV
Romania – Dolce
Russia – Pervyi Kanal – VGTRK – Match TV
Serbia – RTS
Slovakia – RTVS
Slovenia – RTVSLO
Sweden – SVT – TV4
Switzerland – SRG – SSR
Turkey – TRT – Digiturk
Ukraine – Ukrayina
United Kingdom – BBC – ITV – S4C

Angola – SportTV
Australia – SBS – beIN Sports
Brazil – Rede Globo – Rede Bandeirantes
Brunei – Astro
Canada – TSN – RDS
Hong Kong – beIN Sports – now TV
Japan – MP & Silva
Malaysia – Astro
MENA – beIN Sports
Singapore – Eleven Sports Network
South Africa – SuperSport
Sub-Saharan Africa – SuperSport – TV Media Sport
Thailand – GMM Grammy
United States – ESPN